Pertenecer: Chicanx Artists on Belonging - Visit Colorado Springs Events Calendar
Powered by Peakradar

Pertenecer: Chicanx Artists on Belonging

As the title suggests — Pertenecer is Spanish for “to belong” — this exhibition presents artworks by nine artists that explore the possibilities and meanings of belonging.

The diverse experiences of belonging are interpreted by these artists in vastly different ways through drawing, painting, printmaking, video, sculpture, and photography.

Central to this exhibition are important works from the museum’s permanent collection, a portfolio of prints about long-standing Hispanic communities in New Mexico and a mural sized painting by Denver artist Tony Ortega depicting a street scene from the city’s North end.

These artworks depict the artists’ experiences of belonging to places that are shaped by Hispanic communities that have lived in the areas for centuries and decades. Other artists explore what it means to immigrate to a place; expressing both the hope that a new home presents and the courage that it takes to make the journey across borders.

Next Upcoming Date: Wednesday, February 19 2020
  • 30 West Dale Street
  • Colorado Springs, CO
  • Location: Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center at Colorado Coll...
  • Time: 10:00 AM to 7:30 PM
  • Admission: Members: Free Non-Members: $10
Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Wednesday, February 19
  • Thursday, February 20
  • Friday, February 21
  • Saturday, February 22
  • Sunday, February 23
  • Tuesday, February 25
  • Wednesday, February 26
  • Thursday, February 27
  • Friday, February 28
  • Saturday, February 29